Andrew Boag is a typographer, information designer, writer and lecturer. He contributed to and co-edited The Monotype Recorder (One hundred years of type making 1897–1997) New series 10 (1997), and has written about Monotype’s phototypesetters in the Journal of the Printing Historical Society (2000). He is a contributing author for Gower’s forthcoming Handbook of Information Design.

Christopher Burke is a typographer, typeface designer and design historian. He is Research Fellow at the Department of Typography & Graphic Communication, University of Reading, UK. He has designed four typefaces (Celeste, Celeste Sans, Pragma and Parable) and written two books, Paul Renner: the art of typography (1998) and Active literature: Jan Tschichold and New Typography (2007). He coedited Isotype: design and contexts, 1925–1971 (2013).

Sebastian Carter read English and History of Art at King’s College, Cambridge. He was a partner with his father Will Carter, and then owner of the Rampant Lions Press in Cambridge, until its closure in 2008. His Twentieth century type designers was first published in 1987. He is European editor of Parenthesis, the Journal of the Fine Press Book Association. He received the 2013 laureate award from the American Printing History Association.

Judy Slinn read Philosophy, Politics and Economics at St Anne’s College, Oxford. Since then she has researched and written about many aspects of business across a wide range of manufacturing and service industries in the UK, Europe and North America. She has been an associate editor and writer for the New Oxford Dictionary of National Biography since its inception. She has taught at undergraduate and postgraduate level in business schools at London University (King’s College) and Oxford Brookes University.

Richard Southall learned to set type as a schoolboy in the late 1940s. Since then he has worked in publishing, photomatrix manufacture, photocomposing machine development, graphic design education, digital font design for television and computers and the theory of document structure. His book Printer’s type in the twentieth century was published in 2005.